KCCA FC get multiple nominations for the 2016/17 AUPL Awards

Geoffrey Serunkuuma has been nominated for the MVP award in the upcoming AUPL Awards

Kampala Capital City Authority Football Club (KCCA FC) enjoyed a lion’s share in the Uganda Premier league awards nomination ahead of the ceremony slated for July 26th, 2017 at Imperial Royals Hotel.

KCCA FC notched over nine nominations across the different categories in the awards that were launched on Friday morning at Mandela National stadium.

Goalie Benjamin Ochan (L) will nominated for the goal keeper of the season award

Geoffrey Serunkuuma who was recently crowned the club’s best player of the season has been nominated in the category of the Most Valuable Player of the season, the biggest award of the night.

The prolific striker will have a chance to drive home in a brand new Subaru Forester vehicle should he be crowned MVP.

Habib Kavuma will vie for the defender of season award with teammate teammate Timothy Awany

Serunkuuma played an integral role as KCCA FC defended the league title scoring a total of 21 goals.

This also meant that he became the first striker to score more than 20 goals in the league in over 4 seasons.

Both Muzamir Mutyaba (L) and Sadam Juma (R) have been nominated in the midfielder of the season category

The other KCCA players nominated include; Muzamir Mutyaba (best midfielder category) and will be up against teammate Saddam Juma who featured for Express last season.

Defenders Habib Kavuma and Timothy Dennis Awany have been nominated in the category of defender of the season.

Timothy Awany is tipped for the defender of the season award alongside teammate Habib Kavuma

Youngster Allan Okello had also earned a nomination in the upcoming or young player of the season category.

Team manager has once again been nominated in the best coach category, an award he won last season.

Allan Okello is nominated for the young player of the season Award

Joseph Ochaya also formerly a KCCA FC player was the MVP in the 2015/16 season.

Full nominations categories

Champions – KCCA FC

MVP of the season
Geoffrey Serunkuuma(KCCA FC)
Emmanuel Okwi(SC Villa)
Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka)

Goalkeeper of the season
Isma Watenga(Vipers )
Benjamin Ochan(KCCA FC)
Thomas Ikara(Kirinya Jinja SS)

Defender of the season
Halid Lwaliwa(Vipers )
Habib Kavuma (KCCA FC)
Timothy Awany (KCCA FC)

Midfielder of the season
Saddam Juma(Express FC)
Mutyaba Muzamir(KCCA FC)
Shafik Kagimu(URA FC)

Top scorer
Geoffrey Serunkuuma(KCCA FC, 21goals)

Young Player of the year
Allan Okello (KCCA FC)
Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers )
Thomas Ikara(Kirinya Jinja SS)

Fan’s player of the year
Voted by fans

Fair play club of the season
As per statistics

Fair play individual of the season
To be selected by committee

UPL best XI
To be selected by committee

Coach of the year
Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)
Abbey Bogere Kikomeko(Kirinya Jinja SS)
Wasswa Bossa(SC Villa)

Best goalkeeping coach
Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers)
Daniel Kiwanuka (KCCA FC)
Sam Kawalya(Express FC)

Referee of the year
To be selected by referee’s committee

Club CEO of the season
Tamale David (KCCA FC)
Lwanga Peter(Vipers)
William Bakkabulindi(Proline)

Media Personality

Fan(s) of the year
To be selected by committee

Life Time Achiever Award
To be selected by committee