NATIONAL DUTY | Teenagers Wabyoona, Lukwago make final Hippos squad

By: Moses Magero

Defender Haruna Lukwago and Midfielder Faisal Wabyoona have made the final U20 Hippos squad that has traveled to Sudan for the CECAFA AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers from 28th October to 11th November 2022.

The pair were included in the 24-man squad named by Uganda Hippos (U20) interim head coach Jackson Mayanja ahead of the CECAFA AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers.

Lukwago is making his debut tournament for the National Team while Wabyoona played for the Hippos in the U20 AFCON 2020 in Mauritania.

The other KCCA FC player part of the squad is Juma Ibrahim who has previously captained the U17 National Team. Juma is currently on loan at Spanish side CD Leganes.

The team flew out of the country on Wednesday morning aboard Ethiopian Airlines.

Uganda is pitted in group B alongside Tanzania and Ethiopia.

They will commence their title challenge on Saturday 29th October against Tanzania and later Ethiopia on 5th November both at Al Hilal Stadium.

The leading side from group A will face the runners-up from group B and vice versa.

Juma Ibrahim

The full squad


Abdu Magada-Gaddafi FC,

Kamya Shamulan-Bright Stars FC,  

Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala- URA FC


Opiru Justine-URA FC,   Ibrahim Juma- FC Leganes, Samson Kasozi-UPDF FC, Ronald Madoi- Wakiso Giants FC 

Mukisa Simon- UPDF FC, Ssemayange Simon Kato-Bright Stars FC

Lukwago Haruna -KCCA FC, Rogers Torach- Vipers SC


Allan Kiggundu- BUL FC

Katongole Frank-St Mary’s Kitende

Mugulusi Isma- Makedonikos FC, Greece

Nyanzi Marvin- Wakiso Giants FC

Wabyoona Faisal- KCCA FC,

Thomas Kakaire- Mbarara City FC

Bugembe Issa- Bright Stars

Titus Ssematimba- Wakiso Giants FC


Umar Lutalo- SC Villa

Muhammad Nsereko- SC Villa

Kasinde Ibrahim- Bright Stars FC 

Kyeyune Abbas- UPDF FC

Mugisha Rogers-UPDF FC

Team Officials

Hamid Juma (Leader of Delegation)

Mayanja Jackson (Head Coach)

Simeon Masaba (Assistant coach)

Kiberu Mubarak-Goalkeeping coach

Mutyaba Bashir-Team manager 

Gumisiriza Michael-Team Doctor

Ronald Lusulire-Team Media Officer

Bumpemje Frank- Kitsman

Oryem Jolly Joe Innocent- Delegate (Northern Region FA)

Justine Nambafu Delegate- National Women Football Leagues (FWEL)

Faisal Wabyoona

About the Author